Jenkins, Hayley (2015) Gwyneth. [Composition] (Unpublished)

This is the latest version of this item.

[img] Audio (WAV) (Live Performance by the Albany Trio)
Gwyneth.wav - Published Version

Download (60MB)
PDF (Gwyneth Review in Musical Opinion)
Concert_Review_Musical_Opinion_15.pdf - Published Version

Download (1MB)


"Gwyneth" tells the story of an eleven year old girl who was sent to Australia for safety at the outbreak of the Second World War. The piece takes direct influence from a diary entry which was written by a young girl which recounts the day she is taken to Liverpool by her mother to get the boat to Australia uncheperoned along with other children of similar ages. The carefully handwritten pages capture a unique insight into a life-changing journey through the eyes of a young child.

Performers are required to select extracts from the diary to help narrate the story which can be read by all or just one of the performers. The narrations add to the episodic and programmatic quality of the work, bringing the story to life in a nostalgic and sensitive way. The piece has been written specifically for the Albany Trio (violin, cello and piano) and premiered at the Late Music Concert on 6th June 2015.

Item Type: Composition
Subjects: Culture > English Language and Literature
Culture > History and Politics
Performing Arts > Music
Divisions: Faculty of Arts Design and Media > Department of Arts and Design
Units of Assessment > 35 Music, Drama, Dance and Performing Arts (UoA)
Related URLs:
Depositing User: Hayley Jenkins
Date Deposited: 10 May 2016 15:54
Last Modified: 16 May 2019 07:45

Available Versions of this Item

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Downloads per month over past year