Close menu


Sunderland Repository records the research produced by the University of Sunderland including practice-based research and theses.

The Psychological Science Accelerator: Advancing Psychology Through a Distributed Collaborative Network

Moshontz, Hannah, Campbell, Lorne, Ebersole, Charles R., IJzerman, Hans, Urry, Heather L., Forscher, Patrick S., Grahe, Jon E., McCarthy, Randy J., Musser, Erica D., Antfolk, Jan, Castille, Christopher M., Evans, Thomas Rhys, Fiedler, Susann, Flake, Jessica Kay, Forero, Diego A., Janssen, Steve M. J., Keene, Justin Robert, Protzko, John, Aczel, Balazs, Álvarez Solas, Sara, Ansari, Daniel, Awlia, Dana, Baskin, Ernest, Batres, Carlota, Borras-Guevara, Martha Lucia, Brick, Cameron, Chandel, Priyanka, Chatard, Armand, Chopik, William J., Clarance, David, Coles, Nicholas A., Corker, Katherine S., Dixson, Barnaby James Wyld, Dranseika, Vilius, Dunham, Yarrow, Fox, Nicholas W., Gardiner, Gwendolyn, Garrison, S. Mason, Gill, Tripat, Hahn, Amanda C., Jaeger, Bastian, Kačmár, Pavol, Kaminski, Gwenaël, Kanske, Philipp, Kekecs, Zoltan, Kline, Melissa, Koehn, Monica A., Kujur, Pratibha, Levitan, Carmel A., Miller, Jeremy K., Okan, Ceylan, Olsen, Jerome, Oviedo-Trespalacios, Oscar, Özdoğru, Asil Ali, Pande, Babita, Parganiha, Arti, Parveen, Noorshama, Pfuhl, Gerit, Pradhan, Sraddha, Ropovik, Ivan, Rule, Nicholas O., Saunders, Blair, Schei, Vidar, Schmidt, Kathleen, Singh, Margaret Messiah, Sirota, Miroslav, Steltenpohl, Crystal N., Stieger, Stefan, Storage, Daniel, Sullivan, Gavin Brent, Szabelska, Anna, Tamnes, Christian K., Vadillo, Miguel A., Valentova, Jaroslava V., Vanpaemel, Wolf, Varella, Marco A. C., Vergauwe, Evie, Verschoor, Mark, Vianello, Michelangelo, Voracek, Martin, Williams, Glenn P., Wilson, John Paul, Zickfeld, Janis H., Arnal, Jack D., Aydin, Burak, Chen, Sau-Chin, DeBruine, Lisa M., Fernandez, Ana Maria, Horstmann, Kai T., Isager, Peder M., Jones, Benedict, Kapucu, Aycan, Lin, Hause, Mensink, Michael C., Navarrete, Gorka, Silan, Miguel A. and Chartier, Christopher R. (2018) The Psychological Science Accelerator: Advancing Psychology Through a Distributed Collaborative Network. Advances in Methods and Practices in Psychological Science, 1 (4). pp. 501-515. ISSN 2515-2459

Item Type: Article


Concerns about the veracity of psychological research have been growing. Many findings in psychological science are based on studies with insufficient statistical power and nonrepresentative samples, or may otherwise be limited to specific, ungeneralizable settings or populations. Crowdsourced research, a type of large-scale collaboration in which one or more research projects are conducted across multiple lab sites, offers a pragmatic solution to these and other current methodological challenges. The Psychological Science Accelerator (PSA) is a distributed network of laboratories designed to enable and support crowdsourced research projects. These projects can focus on novel research questions or replicate prior research in large, diverse samples. The PSA’s mission is to accelerate the accumulation of reliable and generalizable evidence in psychological science. Here, we describe the background, structure, principles, procedures, benefits, and challenges of the PSA. In contrast to other crowdsourced research networks, the PSA is ongoing (as opposed to time limited), efficient (in that structures and principles are reused for different projects), decentralized, diverse (in both subjects and researchers), and inclusive (of proposals, contributions, and other relevant input from anyone inside or outside the network). The PSA and other approaches to crowdsourced psychological science will advance understanding of mental processes and behaviors by enabling rigorous research and systematic examination of its generalizability.

[img] PDF
PSA 4 2 2018.pdf - Accepted Version
Restricted to Repository staff only
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution.

Download (503kB) | Request a copy

More Information

Depositing User: Glenn Williams


Item ID: 11094
Identification Number:
ISSN: 2515-2459
Official URL:

Users with ORCIDS

ORCID for Glenn P. Williams: ORCID iD

Catalogue record

Date Deposited: 10 Oct 2019 10:16
Last Modified: 25 Nov 2020 17:04


Author: Glenn P. Williams ORCID iD
Author: Hannah Moshontz
Author: Lorne Campbell
Author: Charles R. Ebersole
Author: Hans IJzerman
Author: Heather L. Urry
Author: Patrick S. Forscher
Author: Jon E. Grahe
Author: Randy J. McCarthy
Author: Erica D. Musser
Author: Jan Antfolk
Author: Christopher M. Castille
Author: Thomas Rhys Evans
Author: Susann Fiedler
Author: Jessica Kay Flake
Author: Diego A. Forero
Author: Steve M. J. Janssen
Author: Justin Robert Keene
Author: John Protzko
Author: Balazs Aczel
Author: Sara Álvarez Solas
Author: Daniel Ansari
Author: Dana Awlia
Author: Ernest Baskin
Author: Carlota Batres
Author: Martha Lucia Borras-Guevara
Author: Cameron Brick
Author: Priyanka Chandel
Author: Armand Chatard
Author: William J. Chopik
Author: David Clarance
Author: Nicholas A. Coles
Author: Katherine S. Corker
Author: Barnaby James Wyld Dixson
Author: Vilius Dranseika
Author: Yarrow Dunham
Author: Nicholas W. Fox
Author: Gwendolyn Gardiner
Author: S. Mason Garrison
Author: Tripat Gill
Author: Amanda C. Hahn
Author: Bastian Jaeger
Author: Pavol Kačmár
Author: Gwenaël Kaminski
Author: Philipp Kanske
Author: Zoltan Kekecs
Author: Melissa Kline
Author: Monica A. Koehn
Author: Pratibha Kujur
Author: Carmel A. Levitan
Author: Jeremy K. Miller
Author: Ceylan Okan
Author: Jerome Olsen
Author: Oscar Oviedo-Trespalacios
Author: Asil Ali Özdoğru
Author: Babita Pande
Author: Arti Parganiha
Author: Noorshama Parveen
Author: Gerit Pfuhl
Author: Sraddha Pradhan
Author: Ivan Ropovik
Author: Nicholas O. Rule
Author: Blair Saunders
Author: Vidar Schei
Author: Kathleen Schmidt
Author: Margaret Messiah Singh
Author: Miroslav Sirota
Author: Crystal N. Steltenpohl
Author: Stefan Stieger
Author: Daniel Storage
Author: Gavin Brent Sullivan
Author: Anna Szabelska
Author: Christian K. Tamnes
Author: Miguel A. Vadillo
Author: Jaroslava V. Valentova
Author: Wolf Vanpaemel
Author: Marco A. C. Varella
Author: Evie Vergauwe
Author: Mark Verschoor
Author: Michelangelo Vianello
Author: Martin Voracek
Author: John Paul Wilson
Author: Janis H. Zickfeld
Author: Jack D. Arnal
Author: Burak Aydin
Author: Sau-Chin Chen
Author: Lisa M. DeBruine
Author: Ana Maria Fernandez
Author: Kai T. Horstmann
Author: Peder M. Isager
Author: Benedict Jones
Author: Aycan Kapucu
Author: Hause Lin
Author: Michael C. Mensink
Author: Gorka Navarrete
Author: Miguel A. Silan
Author: Christopher R. Chartier

University Divisions

Faculty of Health Sciences and Wellbeing > School of Psychology


Psychology > Psychology

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item